Recent Posts

Monday, 29 June 2015

Do not confuse your crosses
A Cross pattée

A Maltese Cross--must have eight points symbolizing the Eight Beatitudes....

Can you tell which is which? Testing Time!

Did you guess right?

One, three and five are cross pattee(s).

Two, four, six are Maltese crosses. These resemble arrowheads pointing into the center.

And, for the heck of it, a Jerusalem Cross, a Celtic Cross, a Tau Cross, a Greek Cross, Eastern Orthodox Cross (sometimes called Russian Cross or Catholic Byzantine Cross), Roman Cross, Benedictine Cross, and Coptic Cross. (There are more).

Jerusalem Cross

Celtic Cross

Tau Cross

Greek Cross....arms of equal length

Eastern Orthodox Cross (or Catholic Byzantine Cross), and as a Crucifix (have slanted bar at bottom)

Roman Cross, and Roman Crucifix

Benedictine Cross and next to it, a Coptic Cross